Lime, disking, and overheating

Yesterday was our “Sunday” of our weekend, but the pin I needed for tractor so I could start disking came in, as did the 32 tonnes of lime I ordered (I only needed 3 tonnes but to buy that amount I would have to buy by the bag, which would cost me over $1000, but through the governments subsidized lime program, I got 32 tonnes for under $1000. I won’t have to buy lime again for a decade!). Evan and I got the 3 tonnes spread, one shovel full at a time, then got the pile covered, while the wind blew plastic tarps and lime all over, then I started disking. Just before I finished, just one sliver left, the tractor overheated….steam and coolant blowing out from under the hood. I thought maybe I’d blown a line, but it just got too hot because of all the dandelion seed that was clogging the radiator screen. Must buy oat and clover seed today…

Image

Image

Finishing off Evan’s beer that he passed me for a sip…

